Home

kpbsd-logo-4c-no-tag

Welcome to Fireweed Academy, where students learn to view themselves as readers, writers, and problem solvers. Fireweed Academy is a FREE public school within the Kenai Peninsula Borough School District,

MISSION STATEMENT: To provide a compassionate learning environment that gives students, parents, teachers, and community members opportunities to develop self-reliance, cooperation, creativity, reasoning ability, personal growth, and  academic achievement.

Fireweed Academy is a public school with the Kenai Peninsula Borough School District whose program is based on a Theme Immersion Model. Due to space restrictions, enrollment in Fireweed Academy is limited. If more applications are received than available seats, the lottery process described in the charter will be implemented.  If you have any questions, please call Janet Bowen at 235-9728.

FIREWEED ACADEMY

OPEN ENROLLMENT for 2018-2019

February 1-28, 2018              

Students whose applications are received after February 28, 2018 may be placed on a wait list.

FY19 Fireweed Academy Intent-to-Enroll

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Fireweed-Academy-417260941685597/?ref=hl

NOTICE OF DATE CHANGE FOR THE NEXT APC MEETING-April 9, 2018        

The next Academic Policy Committee: April 9 at Big Fireweed, 995 Soundview Ave., rm 104  4:30 pm. Open to the public.

APC meetings are generally held the first Monday of the month unless otherwise noted.

      **************************************************************

 Mailing Address:
Fireweed Academy
995 Soundview Ave, Suite 2
Homer, Alaska 99603

Physical Locations:

Big Fireweed and main office (Grades 3-6 in the West Homer Elementary facility)
995 Soundview Ave.
Homer, Alaska

Little  Fireweed  (Kindergarten-2)
813 East End Road
Homer, Alaska

PHONES:
Main Office 907-235-9728
Little Fireweed 907-235-5792
FAX 907-235-8561

Our Staff:

Todd HindmanTodd Hindman, Principal                                   thindman@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

e02450Janet Bowen, Administrative Assistant              jbowen@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Hannah SnowHannah Snow, Teacher  Big Fireweed           hsnow@kpbsd.k12.ak.us
e01656Stephanie Zuniga, Teacher Big Fireweed        szuniga@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Michelle Byrd, Speech-Little Fireweed

E01996Mo Wilkinson, Teacher- Little Fireweed         mwilkinson@kpbsd.k12.ak.us
e04236Jon Kulhanek, Teacher -Big Fireweed              jkulhanek@kpbsd.k12.ak.us
e02258Kim Fine, Teacher          Little Fireweed                kfine@kpbsd.k12.ak.us
E02195Betsy Vanek.   Teacher  Little Fireweed                  bvanek@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Kara Bakke Clemens, SPED Aide-Little Fireweed

Maria SantolupoMaria Santolupo                                                lsantolupo@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Laura Peek, Big Fireweed Nurse                                                LPeak@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Melissa Miller, Little Fireweed Nurse                                       mmiller@kpbsd.k12.ak.us 

Lydia ArndtLydia Arndt, Instructional Aide

Kara Clemens, Resource Aide

Carolyn Norton, Instructional Aide