Home

kpbsd-logo-4c-no-tag

Welcome to Fireweed Academy, where students learn to view themselves as readers, writers, and problem solvers. Fireweed Academy is a FREE public school within the Kenai Peninsula Borough School District,

MISSION STATEMENT: To provide a compassionate learning environment that gives students, parents, teachers, and community members opportunities to develop self-reliance, cooperation, creativity, reasoning ability, personal growth, and  academic achievement.

Fireweed Academy is a public school with the Kenai Peninsula Borough School District whose program is based on a Theme Immersion Model. Due to space restrictions, enrollment in Fireweed Academy is limited. If more applications are received than available seats, the lottery process described in the charter will be implemented.  If you have any questions, please call Janet Bowen at 235-9728.

FY19 Registration Dates

August 8th and 9th, 9AM-12PM and 1:30PM-4PM. All new to the district students must bring current immunization records and all incoming kindergartners mys also bring a copy of their birth certificate.

FY19 Fireweed Academy Intent-to-Enroll

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Fireweed-Academy-417260941685597/?ref=hl    

The next Academic Policy Committee: August 6 ,2018 at Big Fireweed, 995 Soundview Ave., rm 104  4:00 pm. Open to the public.

APC meetings are held the first Monday of the month at 4 pm unless otherwise noted.

      **************************************************************

 Mailing Address:
Fireweed Academy
995 Soundview Ave, Suite 2
Homer, Alaska 99603

Physical Locations:

Big Fireweed and main office (Grades 3-6 in the West Homer Elementary facility)
995 Soundview Ave.
Homer, Alaska

Little  Fireweed  (Kindergarten-2)
813 East End Road
Homer, Alaska

PHONES:
Main Office 907-235-9728
Little Fireweed 907-235-5792
FAX 907-235-8561

Our Staff:

Todd HindmanTodd Hindman, Principal                                   thindman@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

e02450Janet Bowen, Administrative Assistant              jbowen@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Hannah SnowHannah Snow, Teacher  Big Fireweed           hsnow@kpbsd.k12.ak.us
e01656Stephanie Zuniga, Teacher Big Fireweed        szuniga@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Michelle Byrd, Speech-Little Fireweed

E01996Mo Wilkinson, Teacher- Little Fireweed         mwilkinson@kpbsd.k12.ak.us
e04236Jon Kulhanek, Teacher -Big Fireweed              jkulhanek@kpbsd.k12.ak.us
e02258Kim Fine, Teacher          Little Fireweed                kfine@kpbsd.k12.ak.us
E02195Betsy Vanek.   Teacher  Little Fireweed                  bvanek@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Kara Bakke Clemens, SPED Aide-Little Fireweed

Laura Peek, Big Fireweed Nurse                                                LPeak@kpbsd.k12.ak.us

Melissa Miller, Little Fireweed Nurse                                       mmiller@kpbsd.k12.ak.us 

Carolyn Norton, Instructional Aide